Lost and Searching

Because YOU Were Happy: A Poem About Pain

It didn’t matter
That I was sad,
That I was lonely.
Because YOU were happy.

It didn’t matter
That I was in pain,
That I cried myself to sleep.
Because YOU were happy.

It didn’t matter
That I hurt myself,
That I cut my flesh.
Because YOU were happy.

It didn’t matter
That I wanted to kill myself,
That I was ready to say goodbye.
Because YOU were happy.

It didn’t matter
That I had to hide this from you,
That I couldn’t tell you about it.
Because YOU were happy.

But it fucking mattered
That you didn’t see me,
That you didn’t care about me.
Because I wasn’t happy.

I wasn’t happy…

One response

  1. The pain reflected here seems like the synonmn of Lonliness which is quite an old concept. Being a folklorist, I have seen evidence of pain & loneliness in proverbs & folklore from several cultures. One Indian proverb on personal pain I want to quote here is “A butting ox is better than a lonely bed.” from my site http://www.cuteproverbs.com. I guess one thing poorly understood is the difference between Loneliness and Solitude. In the former the person is not comfortable with the self but in Solitude, he is in perfect harmony with the self. Isn’t it?

    March 12, 2013 at 7:43 am

Leave a Reply

