Lost and Searching

Wyrd bið ful aræd: It Had to be Replayed

Sometimes, I just open this because I want it here. I don’t always know what I want to say when I open it, I just know that something feels like it needs out. Really, I’m just sitting here refreshing pages and working. As I do that, thoughts turn over in the back of my mind. I don’t usually notice them, but sometimes they press a little more insistently and I get the urge to write. Sometimes, that urge comes before the thought makes itself known. What I type now is preamble. It is well worded nothingness; falling with style, if you will. My fingers are moving to let my mind ponder, wander, find a thread. I think the thread was found a while ago, but the story written upon it is still being sussed out. There are many threads to be followed and some of them look very much alike.

 

I use that term a lot, ‘threads’. One set of people in Norse Mythology that I have always been interested in are the Norns. They are much like the Fates in Greek mythology, but I prefer the Norse version. The Norns sit at the base of Yggdrasil and spin the threads of life for people as well as water Yggdrasil itself. There are many norns, as each person gets their own norn at birth. That norn determines your fate. Among the myriad of norns, there are three main Norns: Urðr,  Verðandi, and Skuld, who represent past, present, and future respectively. However, they do not determine those things exclusively, as wyrd is determined by the way all three work together. They each spin their own thread, crossing and mixing with each other. Each may cut a thread at any time and add it back later. Each thread is like our stories, a moment in our life, what we have gone through and will go through. They are us and they are fragile.

 

Wyrd is a fickle thing. It takes us wherever it wants, regardless of our own desires. That does not make it all powerful, as it can be ignored, guided, or overpowered. To me, wyrd (fate) is not there to plan out your entire life, it is there to place things in your path. It is up to you to rise to the occasion. Wyrd can only take us to that point. It is up to us to take advantage of the opportunity. We hold all the power, though sometimes we feel powerless.

 

Wyrd also loves irony. It has placed an opportunity in my path, but to get to it I have to replay the lead up to my most painful tragedy on a far grander scale. I am risking far more this time, but the reward is far greater. This time around though, I do not fear it. I’ve avoided like situations for years, but I am finally ready to conquer this and seize the opportunity. I’ll not falter this time. The last time was rash foolishness, but I think it was something I had to do. The issue wasn’t in having it happen, it was in how I handled it when it fell apart. There’s no falling apart this time. This is the last barrier to conquer. After this, things will really start to change for the better. There will be no stopping me.

3 responses

  1. My partner and I stumbled over here coming from a different web page and thought I may as well
    check things out. I like what I see so now i
    am following you. Look forward to going over your
    web page yet again.

    August 2, 2013 at 3:56 pm

    • Thank you! I’m glad you enjoyed what you have read.

      August 3, 2013 at 10:30 pm

  2. Definitely believe that which you said. Your favorite justificaation
    appeared to be on the web the simplest thing tto consider of.
    Isay to you, I definitely get annoyed while otyer people think about concerns that they just
    do not understand about. You controlled to
    hit the nail upon the highest and defined out the whole thing with no need side-effects , other folks can take a signal.
    Will probably be baack to get more. Thank you

    September 17, 2013 at 8:17 am

Leave a Reply

